Various questions/suggestions

Help
FunkySquid
2008-01-13
2013-04-25
  • FunkySquid
    FunkySquid
    2008-01-13

I'm new to Fuppes (it's awesome, by the way) and I was looking to do a few things. Some may or may not be possible.

For reference, I'm serving from an Ubuntu box to my PS3, HR20 and Xbox (original) w/ XBMC. I've only been playing with the PS3 so far.

1. Rename server. It's showing up on my PS3 as "FUPPES SVN-r584". Is this configurable?

2. Name specific folders. I've got virtual folders set up, but I'd like to be able to tell Fuppes that the directory "/movies3" should show up as "Kids Movies" in the folder tree.

3. Limit PS3 browsing of media to the proper media type. In other words, when I am in the "Music" section of the crossbar, I don't want my "Movies" folder to show up. Possible, or PS3 limitation?

4. Also, when I run Fuppes via init.d (http://fuppes.ulrich-voelkel.de/wiki/index.php/Startup_with_Init.d), is a log file created anywhere?

Thanks for any help!

• Ulrich Völkel
      Ulrich Völkel
      2008-01-14

Hi!

1. Yes, just add the following lines to the device settings
          <description_values>
            <friendly_name>%s %v (%h)</friendly_name>
          </description_values>

where %s (shortname) is FUPPES, %v is the current version and %h the hostname.
      for an example see http://fuppes.ulrich-voelkel.de/wiki/index.php/Yamaha_RX-N600

2. This is currently not possible but a good idea. One could set an unique id for a shared dir in the fuppes.cfg and reference this id in the vfolder.cfg.
      something like that:

fuppes.cfg:
        <dir ref_id="1234">/mnt/movies3</dir>

vfolder.cfg:
        <vfolder name="Movies">
          <vfolder name="Kids Movies">
            <items type="videoItem" ref_id="1234" />
          </vfolder>
        </vfolder>

3. If I remember correctly this is a limitation of the PS3.

4. You can start fuppes with --log-file /path/to/log.file to redirect the output to a file.

- Uli

• FunkySquid