confused...

Help
2008-01-16
2013-04-25
  • ok, perhaps i'm a total newb here, but i'm having a very bizarre issue with fuppes at the moment...

I had it all working for the most part, and went to compile a new version.

I got 585 from SVN, compiled and installed it w/no problems.

However, now, when i try to run it, it always comes up saying that it's SVN-r578... unless i run it directly from the binary in the compiled src directory (i.e. Source/fuppes-SVN585/src/fuppes). in the later case, it reports the correct SVN-r585 revision.

I've used checkinstall to install previous (and this) version, according to the Ubuntu 7.10 install guide on the wiki. Are there some lingering files taking precedence that I can't see even with a system-wide 'find . -name fupp*' or 'find . -name lt-fupp*'? i would appreciate any help here.

Also, when this older version is running and a database update event occurs, i get a "stack smashing" error and the program quits altogether.

thanks in advance!
    m@

• Ulrich Völkel
      Ulrich Völkel
      2008-01-16

I guess you compiled the previous version with a different --prefix than the current one.
      e.g. the old one in /usr and the current one in /usr/local.

If you update an existing package with checkinstall it should remove resp. replace all files from the old one, shouldn't it!?
      So I wonder why you still have the old version on your system. Even if you configure the old with --prefix=/usr and the new with --prefix=/usr/local the old files under /usr/ should be uninstalled when installing the new one.

Have you ever installed a version running "make install" instead of using checkinstall?

- Uli

• It's possible that I have used just "make install" before (when i've had trouble with checkinstall completing... as I said, i'm kind of a newb at this whole software compilation thing). However, and here's the weird bit...