Would re-mapping a few keys be hard?

• Kevin Ashton
    Kevin Ashton

I am interested in re-mapping a few keys in Freemind to make navigation by the keyboard quicker. Example when you are navigating nodes (usually done with the arrow keys) I would like to re-map j,k,h,l to serve as the arrow keys. (This would save a lot of time going to the arrows or to the mouse) When I am over a node I want to edit I would push 'i' which would do the same thing as F2 does currently.

In summary I want to change the following keys

j - down
    k - up
    h - left
    l - right
    i - Edit Node

I am sure many of you recognize this navigation as VI. Freemind is such a great program it would be nice to be able to navigate as quickly without moving my hands, or switching to the mouse.

I have some programming experience but not tons. I am just wondering how much work this would take to implement? I don't think this would be too complicated so i think I will go ahead and try it. Basically I am just wondering if it will be a lot more work than I expect before I spend all of this effort. Anyway any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks

Kevin Ashton

• WhitePeace

Hi Kevin,
      I agree with you about assigning new keys for navigation, maybe not the listed ones as they are aligned serially on the keyboard which might be a little bit against the way people used to see the arrows.