v1.0.0 will not open v0.9.0 mindmaps

Help
2013-11-28
2014-03-30
  • Background
    I have been using Freemind for several years now, both at home and at work. I don't remember which version I started with but have for sure used both 0.8.2 and 0.9.0. I tell my colleagues how useful it is and this is how I ended up in some trouble this week. One colleague sent me a mindmap for review and it was created in the latest version. I could not open it with version 0.9.0.

Easy, just up-grade to the lates version, you say. Well, at home I run a Debian based system and 0.9.0 is the latest version in Debian's stable repo. I want to be able to bounce mindmaps between home and work so I don't want to up-grade at work unless I can do so at home.

I downloaded the freemind-bin-max-1.0.0.zip and uncompressed it. Made freemind.sh executable.

Symptoms
    I know the new version has fired up OK at least once but I don't remember if it was the first time. When it did it told me it was about to open a mindmap created in an older version.... I clicked "yes" and all went reasonably well. I write "reasonably" because the node texts were not rendered correctly. The text was truncated but all of it was there if I opened the editor.

Apart from this I have had no luck. When I click "yes" at that old file warning nothing happens apart form closing that dialogue box. I could sit and look at the splash screen until the end of time it seems. There is no CPU load so I assume Freemind has hit permafrost.

0.9.0 still works OK. No issues there.

I have tried un-installing 0.9.0 in case there was a conflict but that changed nothing.

Here are some CLI-output:

martin@cb64:~/Program/Freemind$ DEBUG=1 ./freemind.sh
    DEBUG: Using $PATH to find java virtual machine.
    DEBUG: Using '/usr/bin/java' as java virtual machine...
    java version "1.6.0_27"
    OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.12.6) (6b27-1.12.6-1~deb7u1)
    OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b12, mixed mode)