How to verify a table output using expect

Help
2009-02-02
2013-05-02
  • Hello all,

I am new to expect and trying to get hands on it. I have not found much of documentation  and so here I am looking for some help from the forums.

I am trying to generate a table which is dumped on the screen (similar to output from ps command ).After adding/ deleting a row from the table i have to verify the output using expect. Also how to verify the output of all the rows from the table. Any help or suggestions would be great.

Thanks and Regards,
    Vish.

• ender
      ender
      2009-02-02

If the first step is to verify that the row you deleted was successful and there isn't some built in verification to the process you're using then you could dump the table to the screen and expect the row you deleted so if it finds it then you know it didn't work and if it doesn't find it then you're good.

Now for checking the whole table it depends on if you're checking for exact numbers that you can put into the script or if the numbers change alot then you'd have to expect using regular expressions.

It's all possible but just depends on what you actually need to check for. When you look at it manually what are you looking for?

• Actually, i got the logic and would be doing the same as you have specified when a row is deleted. But i am looking for how to use a regular expression to check the whole table or the rows in a table. For example my table output would be as follows.

+++++++++++++++++
      +col1 |  col2  | col3      +
      +++++++++++++++++
      + str1|  num1| str2      +
      +++++++++++++++++
      +str3 | num2 | str2       +
      +++++++++++++++++

In the above col1 and col3 accept string values and col2 accepts numeric values. so when i add a row 1
      i have to check for the str1,num1,str2 to be present in first row and similarly str3,num2,str2 are present in the 2nd row.