Development Environment

johnoc
2008-01-13
2013-03-25
  • johnoc
    johnoc
    2008-01-13

Hi Derm

I've downloaded the source and binaries but am not having a fun time putting the whole thing together.
    I see that you have decided to go down the M$ route with .NET and VB.

Is this a hard decision? Or are you open to suggestions here too?
    Would you consider an open dev environment that is cross platform?

What was your reasoning for choosing this route over a more platform friendly language like Java?
    To be honest, having to install .NET and VB and whatever else Bill decides I'll need is painful.

As a developer I should be able to read the code using any editor I so wish (xemacs of course) and I really ought to be able to build from a command line (makefile/ant files would be better - I can help here).

By going down a more open route you'll also be more likely to attract more interest from the community. Being able to just download the source (along with the open tools needed) and just typing make from your favourite shell (cmd, cygwin, etc) is what I'd be more used to.

Are you regretting emailing me yet? ... ;)

cya
    john

• Derm
      Derm
      2008-01-14

I take one weekend offline...

Right, the main reasoning behind VB is ease of use and learning. I read somewhere that Basic is the most widely used language in the world, with VB leading the way. Eolas is primarily aimed at education due to possible legal requirements as to providing accessible content, therefore the core audience would not be coders. In my masters year all of the teachers loved VB but em, endured, JAVA. VB is widely used by non-coders and I wanted them to feel they can change the app as much as coders.

Secondly I hadn't coded in about 8 years, so a widely-used, easy-to-learn language with plenty of Idiot books and online references was ideal. Especially as I had already played around with it :)