Do you have multiprocessing?

Jordan
2007-02-11
2013-05-14
  • Jordan
    Jordan
    2007-02-11

I'm making an emulator and thinking it'd be kinda neat to support multiprocessing for the 8086.
    The only problem is I can't find ANY code or docs for how multiprocessing on the 8086 works.

I quickly skimmed through the CVS code and didn't see anything on multiprocessing, but just to be sure I'm asking if you have ANY code for 8086 multiprocessing

• Jody Bruchon
    Jody Bruchon
    2011-04-12

In short, no, because no such hardware exists.

I am unaware of any 8086 platforms that support multiple processors, and if they exist, they are very likely to be proprietary systems with inaccessible programming documentation.  AFAIK multiprocessing on x86 didn't start to gain any serious ground until the era of the 80486.

• Ronald Wochner
    Ronald Wochner
    2012-11-14

If I may seriously necro-post:
    First, I am just an amatuer hobbyist, so if anything I say is horridly wrong, let me know (gently please!)