Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

EJBCA superadmin.p12 has expired

Help
2014-01-23
2014-01-29
  • Scott Wilson
    Scott Wilson
    2014-01-23

Hello and thanks in advance for any help!

I am a contractor assigned to documenting the EJBCA environment within the company I am currently helping.

I am new to EJBCA so please bare with me.

I know the steps to creating a new superadmin.p12 should the old one expire or need to be renewed.

./ejbca.sh ra setuserstatus superadmin 10 // this sets its status to NEW so it can be changed
    ./ejbca.sh ra setclarpwd superadmin <my new="" password=""> // this sets the new password for superadmin
    ./ejbca.sh batch superadmin // this tells the batch to process the changes for superadmin, or user passed

My questions are: The company has 2 ejbca servers that work in a load balanced env. Also there is an
    HSM managing the keystore. If I run the above commands on one of the ejbca servers, to generate a new
    superadmin.p12 file, to import into IT/OPS browsers for access to the Admin GUI....do the commands above,
    update that one ejbca server I ran it on, or does it go to the HSM and update the public/private key there,
    then puts the superadmin.p12 on the box I ran the scripts from.

What I want to document and know is, if I run this on one box, will it impact the current running environment
    in any way, other than generate me a new superadmin key. Will all the existing keys etc. continue to work,
    without any further tasks needed. Will this new superadmin.p12, once imported into the IT/OPS browsers grant
    them access to both the ejbca servers admin gui?

Again, thank you, in advance, for any help!

• Quite advanced question, with load balancing etc. I can recommend an EJBCA training to learn more about clustering EJBCA :-)