Debugger not stopping at breakpoints

Help
2012-09-06
2013-05-20
  • I have been using the EPIC Perl debugger in Eclipse for about 9 months now on one machine. I am now installing Eclipse Juno on a new machine (Windows 7 64 bit)  and am experiencing some problems with the debugger.

Basically, if I set a breakpoint in a file that is in the same directory as the script being debugged, then the debugger stops there. But if I set a breakpoint in a file that is in a different directory, then the debugger does not stop there.

I have read several posts about debugger problems, and have tried all the proposed fixes, but none of them solved the problem. In particular:

- I installed PadWalker with 'ppm install PadWalker'.
    - I have upgraded Cwd using cpanp (ppm wouldn't upgrade it).
    - The script being debugged starts with the following statement:
       use lib "../../IIPerlUtils";
       where '../../IIPerlUtils' is the path where the problematic file resides (relative path w.r.t. the script being debugged).
    - I have restarted Eclipse after the above changes.
    - The Perl Include path for the project where the script being debugged resides has the following entries in it:
         C:\Users\desiletsa\Documents\eclipse_workspace\IIPerlUtils
         C:/Users/desiletsa/Documents/eclipse_workspace/IIPerlUtils
       Which are the forward and backslash versions of the directory where the problematic file resides

I don't know what else to do. Does anyone have other suggestions?

Thx.

• Oh, forgot to mention. I also edited Cwd.pm to replace

if (*{$DynaLoader::{boot_DynaLoader}}{CODE}) {

with:

if (eval { defined &DynaLoader::boot_DynaLoader; }) {

in the _win32_cwd() sub.

• Jan Ploski
    Jan Ploski
    2012-09-06