Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Newbie Experience

Developers
2005-11-14
2013-04-26
  • I am new to Python and wxWidgets and have only recently finished my first project. I chose DrPython because it worked in the way I program, i.e, Edit and Run. Although it works quite well I find that there are a lot of bugs. They are generally not very serious but they are annoying nevertheless.

I would suggest that there should be a spcial effort to identiify and record the bugs and then make a systematic effort to solve them.

It would help when submitting patches if the CVS tree was not 8 or more months out of date. If it were kept up-to-date it would be possible to see where work was being done. Also, none of the bugs appear to be allocated to any of the developers.

Also the documentation does not appear to have been updated for the new features. I am not clear why it is thought that only experienced users need a Find and Replace feature. I don't understand what the Import All button is for.

There is a difficulty in setting up suitable options particularly since there is no context-sensitive help. For example, the first time I ran version 161 on Linux it complained that it could not find /rubbish! It would be a great help to new users if there were an install wizard to help define a basic set of preferences.

• you have some good observations there cthoday.  Lots of things wrong with the DrPython project.  the good thing is, now that you know what's wrong, you know where to start helping!  That's how open-source works.  It can only be free if everyone helps.  Otherwise, you can always follow the commercial model, where you pay big $$.  How about $295 for the Wing editor instead of $00 (or suitable donation) for DrPython?

cheers
      S