dispy vs. pp

• Paco de Kumite
    Paco de Kumite

First of all, HUGE thanks to Giridhar Pemmasani for this wonderful tool. I'm just getting started with parallel computation with python. I've tried both pp and dispy so far, with virtually identical logic, on identical hardware, and here's what I've found.

pp is consistently faster (sometimes by almost a factor of 2, but dispy still smokes the sequential version)
    dispy manages memory much better.

My test case creates a lot of jobs (thousands), and dispy memory use is very low. On the other hand, pp is faster but craps out if the job is big enough to fill up my ram.

I'm wondering if anyone knows why I might be seeing this. I don't claim to understand how these libraries work at any deep level, but something fundamental that seems apparent in their respective syntax is that dispy creates the server with the function, and it just submits the arguments to that function with each job. Whereas pp does not create the server with anything, and you submit to it both the function and arguments with each job. I guess if pp creates a new copy of the function with each submission, then creating many jobs faster than they are completing would result in huge memory use. Does this make sense?

I'm also wondering if there is any danger in running both dispy and pp within the same app (so they'd both be fighting for the same resources). Or is this just a stupid idea?

• Hi

Can you also send me output of attached program? It checks if number of processors are detected correctly by dispynode.

• I am not sure why dispy should be slow - it schedules jobs as soon as a processor is available. I can only guess that it could be because dispy doesn't detect number of processors on the nodes correctly. Can you run 'dispynode.py -d' on each of the nodes and check that it finds processors (number of CPUs * number of cores on each CPU) correctly. If possible, please attach (skeleton of) your program.

• Paco de Kumite
    Paco de Kumite