Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

#237 Wrong Mode selected

All versions
closed
O. Givi
None
1
2014-08-23
2013-11-12
Graham Harris
No

A few times now I have caught DirSyncpro 1.44 marking files as Modified on A (M->) when the copy on B is newer! See the attached image.

1 Attachments

Related

Bugs: #237

Discussion

  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-11-12

    I attached also my .dsc. The Job is "BSE Wiki to USB", Dir A is USB/FAT32 F:, Dir B is NTFS D:

     
  • O. Givi
    O. Givi
    2013-11-15

    This is weird! Do you have the opportunity to run DirSync Pro 1.47a8 on this and send me the DirSyncPro.log to me?

    Thank you!

     
  • O. Givi
    O. Givi
    2013-11-15

    • status: open --> pending
     
  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-11-17

    Hi Omir,

    I no longer have the precise layout of files needed to reproduce the
    problem exactly with the new version.

    I previously tried 1.46 but had dependency problem, I think. I'll see if
    I can work through them over the next few days for your new version.

    On 16/11/13 08:40, O. Givi wrote:

    This is weird! Do you have the opportunity to run DirSync Pro 1.47a8
    on this and send me the DirSyncPro.log to me?

    Thank you!


    [bugs:#237] http://sourceforge.net/p/directorysync/bugs/237/ Wrong
    Mode selected

    Status: open
    Created: Tue Nov 12, 2013 07:56 PM UTC by Graham Harris
    Last Updated: Tue Nov 12, 2013 07:58 PM UTC
    Owner: O. Givi

    A few times now I have caught DirSyncpro 1.44 marking files as
    Modified on A (M->) when the copy on B is newer! See the attached image.


    Sent from sourceforge.net because you indicated interest in
    https://sourceforge.net/p/directorysync/bugs/237/

    To unsubscribe from further messages, please visit
    https://sourceforge.net/auth/subscriptions/

     

    Related

    Bugs: #237

  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-12-08

    Hi Omir,

    It took a long time for the problem to re-occur but it has; here is the
    screenshot with your latest two versions, and the .dsc & .properties
    files.

    This is on WinXP.

    Thanks

    Graham

     
  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-12-08

    .properties

     
    Attachments
  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-12-08

    .dsc

     
    Attachments
  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-12-08

    and finally the .log

     
    Attachments
  • O. Givi
    O. Givi
    2013-12-08

    Hi Graham,

    Please do not sync/overwrite these couple of files so we can trace the problem.
    I'll first study your log file and get back to you asap.

    Would you please look up those files on your hard disk and verify the modification dates? Let's make sure if the dates are shown correctly in the GUI versus an analysis bug.

    Thank!

    Regards,
    Omid

     
  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-12-09

    Hi Omid,

    Sure, I have not sync'd so as to avoid overwriting the evidence.

    The newer copies, that DirSyncPro offers to overwrite, are on my NTFS hard drive and the dates shown in Dir B match the NTFS modified dates/times. The files all have the Archive bit set but not read-only, system or hidden attributes.

    The older files are on my FAT32 USB key and also have the Archive bit set but no other attributes. In Windows Explorer the dates of the USB copies are as shown in DirSyncPro but the times of two of them are an hour off- PERT.wiki shows as 15:08 and PM Workflow.wiki shows as 01:15. I think both of these were modified in Winter time whereas it is now Daylight Saving (Summer) time, and the other two were last modified in Summer time. So we can probably rule out Daylight Saving differences between the two disk formats as the source of the problem.

    Hope this helps,

     
  • Graham Harris
    Graham Harris
    2013-12-11

    Hi Omid,

    Here as promised is the log file from b2 Build 2. The original files showing the errors are still there, and there are a few more showing the same error.

    Best, Graham

     
    Attachments
  • O. Givi
    O. Givi
    2013-12-11

    Hi Graham,

    It took me a while to find out what is going on, and I found it. This is not a bug! Here is what happens:

    You have setup a A -> B sync with conflict resolution mode set to 'Copy Source'. DirSync Pro detects a conflict, for those files, because the source is older than the destination. However it does exactly as you have set it to: copy the source file anyway. If you wish to be warned only, you may set the conflict resolution to the default mode ('warn user').

    To avoid this kind of confusion, I have emphasizes this kind of conflict in the sync queue by using the 'Forced Copy' icon instead of 'Copy modified' icon. The tooltip text of this sync icon gives also some more textual information.

    Version 1.47b3 is out there. Please give it a try!

    Cheers,
    Omid

     
    • Graham Harris
      Graham Harris
      2013-12-11

      Hi Omid,

      Thanks for your patience with me.

      It's incredible that having used DirSync Pro so long I could make such a
      dumb mistake. I must have skipped over that tab without taking it in,
      although it looks like the default should not have caused problems, so I
      wonder how it got set away from the default.

      The other thing that trips me up is when I move files around in the
      directory tree. DirSync Pro shows a deletion and a creation, but perhaps a
      long way apart in the list. So I am inclined not to allow the deletion,
      resulting in duplication. Would it be possible to allow the results list
      to be sorted by filename (rather than the Mode), so that I can see the old
      and new next to each other and allow the delete in the confidence that the
      file is preserved somewhere else? Many tools allow you to click a column
      header to allow sorting.

      Thanks
      Graham

      Hi Graham,

      It took me a while to find out what is going on, and I found it. This is
      not a bug! Here is what happens:

      You have setup a A -> B sync with conflict resolution mode set to 'Copy
      Source'. DirSync Pro detects a conflict, for those files, because the
      source is older than the destination. However it does exactly as you have
      set it to: copy the source file anyway. If you wish to be warned only, you
      may set the conflict resolution to the default mode ('warn user').

      To avoid this kind of confusion, I have emphasizes this kind of conflict
      in the sync queue by using the 'Forced Copy' icon instead of 'Copy
      modified' icon. The tooltip text of this sync icon gives also some more
      textual information.

      Version 1.47b3 is out there. Please give it a try!

      Cheers,
      Omid


      [bugs:#237] Wrong Mode selected

      Status: closed
      Created: Tue Nov 12, 2013 07:56 PM UTC by Graham Harris
      Last Updated: Wed Dec 11, 2013 07:26 PM UTC
      Owner: O. Givi

      A few times now I have caught DirSyncpro 1.44 marking files as Modified on
      A (M->) when the copy on B is newer! See the attached image.


      Sent from sourceforge.net because you indicated interest in
      https://sourceforge.net/p/directorysync/bugs/237/

      To unsubscribe from further messages, please visit
      https://sourceforge.net/auth/subscriptions/

      --
      Best Regards
      Graham

      New Zealand: GMT +12 hours
      Phone +64 9 445 2132
      Mobile +64 27 275 4396

       

      Related

      Bugs: #237

  • O. Givi
    O. Givi
    2013-12-11

    • status: pending --> closed
     
  • O. Givi
    O. Givi
    2013-12-12

    Hi Graham,

    No problem at all! Happy to hear DirSync Pro is still useful for your purpose!

    About 'sorting' the sync Q: it's a bit complicated to implement sorting there. I'll consider it for next releases.

    Kind regards,
    Omid