Help with zero-byte files

Help
2006-06-06
2013-04-16
  • Hello,
    I'm new to davfs so please excuse me if this issue has been discussed previously. 

I'm using davfs2 to post files from a SuSE Linux box to an Oracle Portal and sometime encounter a situation where the resultant file is zero bytes in length and has a date of 31-Dec-69. 

Has anyone seen this issue before and does anyone have a fix? 

If I can provide more information, please let me know.

Thanks in advance.
    Patrick

• Werner Baumann
      Werner Baumann
      2006-06-06

Hello Patrick,

it might be a "locked null resource". This will occur when someone takes a lock on the server (to reserve the name) but has not yet uploaded the file. This "locked null resources" will have length zero and no valid attributes associated.

But to be sure, and as there have been a lot of changes to the code, some more information would be usefull:

- what is the exact version of davfs2? You will get it using the command "/sbin/mount.davfs -V".

- From what source did you get it (in case it is a patched version from some distribution).

- What are the situations when this happens?
      - What davfs2 related commands did you issue before?
      - Was this file created by you using davfs2?
      - Does the file exist on the server and what are it's size and creation date? (Maybe you can access the server with an ordinary browser to get this information.)

Greatings
      Werner

• Hello again,

Here's the info that you requested:

/sbin/mount.davfs -V
             /sbin/mount.davfs: davfs2 0.2.8  <http://dav.sourceforge.net>

I got davfs2 from SourceForge.

I cannot reproduce this problem at will, it happens sometimes and not other times.

My process for creating the files is as follows: