Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

multi-format music, many-to-many containers?

HansBKK
2012-07-29
2013-01-20
  • HansBKK
    HansBKK
    2012-07-29

Total DC noob here, looked for high-level getting started, database-design type docs, apparently none out there? In looking through the help and messages here, I'm still not clear on how to approach what I'm trying to accomplish.

I'm looking to organize my Grateful Dead music collection. The master lossless tracks are tied to a single given "album" in a standard many-to-one relationship - albums may be of type "show" or "studio" or "compilation" or "retrospective".

I'd like to tie the derived files - different sized MP3s - back to their master canonical lossless track, another many-to-one relationship.

However - this is where the many-to-many comes in - I'd also like to "substitute" a given MP3 for the basically-identical song that may be featured in several different "albums" - there are many different re-masters of a given show, and the same track may also feature on a later compilation or retro album. I'd also like to create user-playlists separate from the published albums.

I'm guessing maybe I should try to use DC's "containers"? In some locations I've seen that these (apparently now?) accommodate a given track to be assigned to multiple parents? Is there a way for different order-numbers to be assigned for a given track, unique to each container?

I'd also be willing to investigate creating a custom module type if that's required, suggestions on how to proceed to accommodate the above needs would be greatly appreciated.

Or if DC won't be able to handle this do please let me know, as I'd like to save what looks like a pretty steep learning curve to get started.

• HansBKK
    HansBKK
    2012-07-29