Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

DarwiinRemote broken on OSX 10.8

EFroemling
2012-07-28
2013-06-22
  • EFroemling
    EFroemling
    2012-07-28

Sadly it looks like DarwiinRemote is broken under Mountain Lion, (and from a quick scan of the internet, other wiimote-communication software is too).  Anyone have any idea what changed or if it'll be possible to get it working again?

• John Lee
    John Lee
    2012-08-01

I've been working on it, but I'm no expert.  From what I can tell, I can successfully open L2CAP channels for control and interrupt from the device, and when I try to send the status update command it returns successful (that it sent the command), but the Wii Remote is not behaving as expected.  Instead it continues in it's flashing mode.  Closing the L2Cap channels does not disconnect the wii remote.  So a connection is not being established with the wii remote, even though the channels are open.

This may be because the way channels are opened are different from Lion to Mountain Lion?  I'm not sure.

• John Lee
    John Lee
    2012-08-02

I do not have developer access, but I figured it out!  The control and interrupt channels are not being properly retained as Objective-C requires.  So they invalidate as quickly.

It will take some tracking to properly set all of the retain and releases all through-out the wii remote framework to prevent memory leaking, but you need to AT LEAST retain before returning from

- (IOBluetoothL2CAPChannel *) openL2CAPChannelWithPSM:(BluetoothL2CAPPSM) psm delegate:(id) delegate

and release during disconnect / dealloc.

• EFroemling
    EFroemling
    2012-08-04

The retain bit totally fixed it.. Thanks a ton good sir!  Hopefully someone with developer access can add that to the official version…

• Anonymous
    2012-08-08

I really need this software, but it seems it won't be updated :(