Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

What is Mono? Why do I need it?

Bob Denny
2010-02-26
2013-04-23
  • Bob Denny
    Bob Denny
    2010-02-26

The Dakota Tools are written in the C# language. On Windows, this languages uses the .NET framework. On Linux and Mac OS X it uses the Mono Framework. I encourage you to have a look at the Mono web site for general information on the project and its goals. C# is a thoroughly modern language with an incredible array of features and power.

Mono is analogous to Java, in that it is a cross-platform programming system which runs on a compiling virtual machine that is built for the specific platform on which it is installed. I could have done Dakota in Java; I have extensive past experience with Java as I developed the first web server back end in Java, preceding Sun's servlets etc. I like Java, but I like C# a lot more. I've become proficient in the language and framework. Since Mono supports C#, it was a natural choice for me to develop Dakota tools in C#. Mono makes the binaries portable across Linux, Mac OS X and Windows.

I use Visual Studio to do the development of Mono. There is, however, a very nice Eclipse-0like development environment for Linux and Mac OS X called MonoDevelop. At the moment I don't have the SourceForge project open to other developers, but I plan to do that after I get a lttle real world experience with end users and take care of the "big issues" that might come up.