Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

The type initializer for 'CsGL.OSLib' ...

2009-09-27
2013-07-21
  • Hi.

I'm really new to OpenGL. I was programming on a x86 computer and my applications run fine, but recently i moved to a x64 machine, and it throws the following exception: "The type initializer for 'CsGL.OSLib' threw an exception." Has anyone any idea what is the cause of that exception?

Here is the part of code where the exception is thrown:

protected override void OnSizeChanged(EventArgs e)
            {
                base.OnSizeChanged(e);
                Size s = Size;

GL.glMatrixMode(GL.GL_PROJECTION);
                GL.glLoadIdentity();
                GL.gluPerspective(45.0f, (double)s.Width / (double)s.Height, 0.1f, 100.0f);
                GL.glMatrixMode(GL.GL_MODELVIEW);
                GL.glLoadIdentity();
            }

It is thown on the first line: base.OnSizeChanged…

• I also encounter his error. please help us deal with it.thks

• Jason Foley
    Jason Foley
    2010-03-17

I'm getting this too.  I'm running C# 2008 Express and tried a 32-bit build with no effect.  The OS I'm stuck with is Vista Home Premium 64bit.  This is probably an OS-specific or platform issue.  The CsGL .Net assembly can't find the native .dll file.  I can't reference the native .dll since it's not an assembly.  Is there another way to link from the IDE?  Usually it looks in the current directory.  Copying didn't work either.

One example is NeHe lesson08.  The C# program compiles fine and runs with the unhandled exception on the OnSizeChanged event (initial window setup).  At least this is a starting point.

"Unable to load DLL 'csgl.native.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)"

Stack trace:
       at CsGL.OSLib.csgl_sys_initAssert(ASSERT a, ASSERT_THROW at)
       at CsGL.OSLib..cctor()