How to make it work?

• Anonymous

I am a total beginner and totally new to all this with VNC but I am trying to remote administer a friends computer, but I can not get it to work. I have installed OSXvnc 1.33 on my friends computer to be remotely administered, and I have installed chicken 1.3.6 on my computer. Both computers are running OS X 10.3.4. Both computers have the firewall off. Currently both computers are behind the same router, D-Link 614+ wireless router. Internet works fine for both computers at the same time. I have changed the firewall preferences in the router to allow port 5900 to be open for the ip address of my friends computer to be remotely administered. If I ping my friends ip address it works fine, so the ip address seem to be correct.

The settings for OSXvnc on my friends computer are as follows:
    Display number: 0
    Port: 5900
    Password: ******
    Display name: Someones-Name-Computer.local
    Host Name: Someones-Name-Computer.local
    IP Addresses: ***.***.*.***
    Allow Display Dimming; Ticked
    Allow Machine to sleep: Not ticked
    Swap Mouse buttons 2 & 3: Ticked

Allow share display between clients: Not ticked
    Let clients decide; Not ticked
    Never share display between clients: ticked
    Keep existing client when new client connects; ticked
    Disable remote keyboard/Pointer: Not ticked
    Only allow local connections: Not ticked

These are the settings for Chicken 1.3.6:

Host: ***.***.*.*** (my friends computers ip address)
    Password: ******
    Display (or Port): 0
    Remember password: not ticked
    Shared: Not ticked
    Profile: Default

Making sure the OSXvnc is running on my friends computer I then click connect on chicken... and I get the following message: "connection refused: connect()"

Any suggestion on what I should to to make this work?

Thanks in advance

• Kurt Werle
      Kurt Werle

My guess is that you can not reach your friend's machine for some reason.

1. ping the machine IP address.