Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Build Console (VS2010 + 7 64-bit)

François
2012-02-01
2013-06-12
  • François
    François
    2012-02-01

Hi everyone,

I am a french student (Sorry if there are any english mistakes : P) in training in England and I need to get Console compiled. But I have tried again and again and didn't succeed.

How do I build and debug Console? I have Visual Studio 2010 and Windows 7 64-bit. Are there precise instructions somewhere?

I tried to follow that : https://sourceforge.net/projects/console/forums/forum/1072579/topic/3950897

But I thought Boost didn't need to be build before I can use it on VS, I just need to add boost to the include directories in VS.

And when I build, it failed telling me that "copy ..\bin\Win32\debug\ConsoleHook.dll ..\bin\x64\ConsoleHook32.dll" stops with code 1.

Thank You !

• Kirill
    Kirill
    2012-02-07

François, je parle français un tout petit peu avec beaucoup d'erreurs :)

Indeed, you don't need to build the boost, you just need to have it in your include directories. If you unzipped boost to c:\path\to\boost_1_46_1, just add this path to include directories.

You do need to add  _HAS_CPP0X=0 to your Preprocessor Definitions to not confuse C++0x libraries with boost.

Then you build 32-bit version, then you build 64-bit version. This actually will solve your copy error.

You then will need to copy FreeImage*.dll from setup\dlls next to your resulting console.exe. You will also need to copy console.xml into the same folder.

La prochaine fois que je suis à Paris, vous allez m'acheter un verre ;)

• François
    François
    2012-02-08

Thank you for your answer ! : )

But I still have a problem. I build 32-bit version, then 64-bit version but  I have this error message:

It means that it can run ConsoleHook.dll. I'm not very good with .dll files, what should I do?

Bye !

• François