Cannot Connect to Client [PLEASE HELP}

GusG
2006-01-03
2013-05-02
  • GusG
    GusG
    2006-01-03

{Sorry originally posted in General board)

Hi All,

I am new to Compiere and have been struggling to get it installed for the past several weeks.  It appears to be a product that we can use but I am having problems crop up at every turn.  I hope that some/one of you can help me resolve this.

Background info:
    Oracle: 10g Release 2
    Java:    1.5.0_06_b05
    Compiere: 2.5.3b

... Fron Run_env.bat ...
    COMPIERE_HOME        = C:\Compiere2
    JAVA_HOME            = C:\PROGRA~1\Java\jdk1.5.0_06
    COMPIERE_DB_URL      = jdbc:oracle:thin:@//dev1:1521/erp
    Database ...
    COMPIERE_DB_USER     = compiere
    COMPIERE_DB_PASSWORD = compiere
    COMPIERE_DB_PATH     = oracle
    .. Oracle specifics
    COMPIERE_DB_NAME      = erp
    COMPIERE_DB_SYSTEM   = psw

I have installed and re-installed, without problems, all applications and have finally been able to see the initial screen using: http://dev1/compiere.html.

When attempting the "WebStart" application I am able to get to the application test screen where I can successfully connect to the application server but always fails to connect to the DB.  I can, however, only connect to the application/data via the beta web browser.

After days of googling for answers I have tried many possible modifications to various files and still no-go.  Some of these modifications include the problem with 127.0.0.1 resolving from localhost in the windows\win32\drivers\etc\host..  Also, the review of the TNSNames.ORA and others.  All TNSpings are positive as are all the SQLPlus commands.

And, for the life of me I cannot get this function from the WebStart comand.  It continues deny database access since it cannot connect to the DB.  If I try and connect even with the DB test error I receive an error "Database not found" in red at the bottom of the Compiere Login window..