Colinux-daemon firewall exception

Help
2010-07-26
2013-05-09
  • Marian Vittek
    Marian Vittek
    2010-07-26

Hello,

I am new to coLinux, but it seems like a really great tool. I've just one issue with it. When installing/starting
    colinux, it seems to register a firewall exception causing Windows to open a warning dialog which I have
    to confirm.  However, even if I click "continue blocking" on this dialog and firewall exception is not
    allowed, everything work fine with my coLinux installation. Is it be possible to prevent coLinux of
    registering this firewall exception when it is probably not needed? Or is this exception necessary?

I want to prepare coLinux distribution for other people and I do not want them to be worried about the
    security of their computer when using coLinux. This security dialog surely makes them worry a bit :).

Thanks in advance,

Marian

• Henry N.
    Henry N.
    2010-07-26

coLinux does not try to configure your firewall.

Of curse coLinux use some network stuff. If you enabled the "tap", then the installer will create a new network device "TAP-Win32". This can effect the firewall. If you not need the TAP device, then you should this daemon disable from installer.

I never have seen a firewall exceptions on normal installing. Of curse, if you used the image-downloader from inside the installer, then such message can be have.

From starting coLinux the firewall can popup, if you have enabled some networking devices. This depends on your default settings for the firewall. On my machines I allowed all programs the outgoing traffic, so firewall will not pop up on start. But if I enable redirections on the SLiRP device, then my firewall will warned me. That is normal.

What is the exact message from firewall? (Program will access network, program will run as server, or …)
    Which daemon program creates the message? colinux-daemon.exe or any of the network daemons, or the installer self?

• Marian Vittek