Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Vista - Networking - Loopback - Wincap

Help
2008-06-15
2013-05-09
  • Carl Frederick
    Carl Frederick
    2008-06-15

I have been runing coLinux on Windows XP for several years and mounting my XP drives from the Linux side using TAP.
    I am now trying to get it to work on Vista SP 1. $%#%^@#$^
    As TAP does not work (Blue Screen of Death), I upgrade to 4.02 of Wincap and tried to use the Microsoft Loopback adaptor.
    My Vista machine is 192.168.0.17, I set the loopback adapter to 192.168.1.17, coLinux is configured as 192.168.1.40.
    I can ping the coLinux VM from Vista, but I can't ping Vista from coLinux. I also can't make any TCP/IP connections from Linux to Vista. I see an ARP entry in coLinux for the adaptor, I see the packet count increasing in Linux both sent and received, but linux does not seem to pass this on to the application. I even upgrade to 0.7.3 of coLinux with exactly the same result.

The linux kernel is: colinux 2.6.22.18-co-0.7.3 #1 PREEMPT

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Remember the kernel still works under XP and I need to be able to access my Vista drives from Linux.

Thanks,

Carl

• Henry N.
      Henry N.
      2008-06-15

TAP before version 8.4 have a problem with Vista. Here is an update: http://www.henrynestler.com/colinux/tools/netdriver-tap84.zip - The same version comes with coLinux 0.7.3.

Perhaps Vista has blocked all incoming network requests, and you need to allow this in the firewall setup? Sorry, I don't have Vista running.

An other idea: Use cofs for file sharing.
      Set "cofs=C:\SomePath" in your config, and inside coLinux mount it as "mount -t cofs cofs0 /windows".
      Details you will find in "cofs.txt" in your install directory of coLinux 0.7.3

Henry

• visidarte
      visidarte
      2008-06-30