cmd.exe launched upon ComputeProgram.Build()

Help
zamirkhan
2010-08-17
2012-12-21
  • zamirkhan
    zamirkhan
    2010-08-17

I'm just getting started with Cloo (very useful so far!) trying to integrate some OpenCL into a program. However, I'm finding that every time ComputeProgram.Build(null, null, null, InPtr.Zero) is executed, a command window (cmd.exe) flashes open and closed. There doesn't appear to be any text in the window. This is of course undesirable.

I wondering if I'm doing something wrong that's causing cmd.exe to be opened and closed.

Thanks.

• mux85
    mux85
    2010-08-18

Are you using ATI Stream SDK? As far as I know this is a known bug of the ATI implementation of OpenCL, without that window the build fails.

• zamirkhan
    zamirkhan
    2010-08-18

I am indeed. Thank you for that information. Not the best news, but good to know that it's a known issue. If you have a link to a thread on the ATI forums regarding this issue, that would be much appreciated.

• nythrix
    nythrix
    2010-08-18

I installed ATI Stream v2.2 this morning and couldn't run the Clootils tests anymore. It looks like ATI did it again. Again.
    Broke my previous workaround (https://sourceforge.net/projects/cloo/forums/forum/1048266/topic/3673295). Also Build(null, null, null, IntPtr.Zero) doesn't work properly anymore. I'll come back at you if I figure something out.

• nythrix
    nythrix
    2010-08-20

That's odd. I just confirmed that the Clootils samples work with v2.01 but not 2.2. Could you run the tests with the new release, please? I'd really like to find out what's going on. Where I'm sitting, ATI Stream v2.2 makes Clootils crash in such a way that all the catch blocks are ignored. It jumps right into the OS. For the record: bugs like these cannot be caused by Cloo (i think). It is almost always buggy drivers.