Using CostRegular to Assign Costs

Help
Anonymous
2012-04-08
2013-04-06

• Anonymous
    2012-04-08

Hi,

I am new to CP, but used Choco to solve a simple problem where I need to arrange a given set of tiles on a grid.  That was a simple constraint problem, but now I want to extend a related idea to include optimisation.

I will explain the problem in detail, but you may be able to answer my questions without it, so feel free to skip ahead.  The problem is based on a square grid of cells.  Each cell can contain a tile that shows pipes entering/leaving the square on various sides.  So a simple tile might have a "horizontal" pipe going from left to right.  A more complex tile might have an additional pipe from the bottom meeting the horizontal pipe to give a T.  And the tiles must be constrained so that (1) all pipes connect from tile to tile; (2) no tiles lead off the "edge" of the grid; (3) every cell contains some pipes; (4) the result is consistent with some cells that are specified at the start; (5) the available set of tiles is fixed (and equal in size to the number of empty cells).

So far, so good - that was constraint only and I have solved it.  But now I want to extend that by allowing an open set of tiles (no globalCardinality; drop 5 above) and with the requirement that the total length of the pipes be a minimum.  In my original example a horizontal pipe from left to right has a length of 2 (the minimum) while the T has a length of 3.

My problem is: how to embed this idea of lengths into the problem, so that I can minimise the sum?  And it seems to me that a very simple version of costRegular will do this: I accept *any* word, and the weights are in the cost array.

My questions, then, are:

- If I express the regular expression as a string, how do I encode values greater than 10?  Is it possible to use, say, base 64 symbols?  (my IntegerVariables are bit patterns that encode the pipes; so 5 (1+4) might be the horizontal pipe and 13 (1+4+8) the T).