installation problems

Help
2007-02-26
2013-03-24
  • plastomababuna
    plastomababuna
    2007-02-26

Hello,

I've just installed python25 and cgkit. Everything worked great until I wrote the very firsl lines from tutorial:

from cgkit import *
    Sphere()

What I got is : NameError: name 'Sphere' is not defined

but I have cgkit modules installed and it did look ok...

I thought it could be because of some dependencies so I installed Python23 with numPy Pygame PIL PyProtocols and finally cgkit for py23 but It's the same.
    I can't get even a silly Sphere() :(

Thanks for your time()
    I'd be in love for any help on this()

Peter

• hallb4
      hallb4
      2007-03-02

I have the same issue.  I am new to python but I have all the dependecies installed for both cgkit and pyopengl.  I can run the pyopengl examples just fine also.

• plastomababuna
        plastomababuna
        2007-03-03

Hi hallb4!

I found one silly way to force the viewer to run...copied file to be opened to python/scripts directory, where viewer.py resides, opened command prompt and head there, then write:  python viewer.py myfile.py.
        It works.
        I'm not sure why it doesn't work in any other way.
        I rechecked my paths and environment variables a few times already.

Nice to see somebody alive here, I hope for more users of cgkit in future:)

Cheers

Peter

• plastomababuna
        plastomababuna
        2007-03-03

Yet another thing,
        You can create everything from cgkit by eriting:

from cgkit.all import *

now you can do :

Sphere()
        listWorld()

and it works.

sorry for double posts.

Peter

• hallb4
      hallb4
      2007-03-10

Sorry for the long turn around.  I am working on a couple different projects but I am ready to focus on this one.

I am using cgkit to exercise a couple shaders I wrote.  I am using Pixie Renderman to render some generated castles.

Thanks for your help getting me started I hope to contribute some myself.

• Matthias Baas