Great Software!

2006-06-05
2 days ago
  • I just wanted to say Thanks for this software; it has been hugely useful to me in my beginning logic design / computer architecture course. It honestly has really brought this topic to life for me, being able to visualize circuits like this! It's easy to use, too. 
    I hope you will keep up development on it.

• Thanks! And thanks for reporting that bug with the adder, too. Just a quick survey-question: Did you find the program easy to figure out and get started with? Did you use the help tutorials to find out how the interface worked?

Thanks again!

• Yes, I found it really easy & intuitive.  (I have a background in CAD, so that helps, but still it was quite easy.) I found the software in the late morning, and had prepared a sequential logic design exercise for my class by the same afternoon.

I just started playing around with the interface; I never even touched the tutorial.  The only things I needed to go into the documentation to figure out were:
        - Disconnecting wires
        - How to use the To & From components
        - How the paging system works
        - Finding the O-Scope

The "palletes at the left" thing is pretty standard and straightforward to figure out.  The first thing I tried was dragging gates from the pallete to the work area, which is just how it was desinged.  And having the small red box light up at the connection points when you mouse over them was a good hint that I could make conenctions by clicking there.

I guess some indication of which components can be adjusted by double-clicking would help, though I figured that out by experimenting too.  It's maybe slightly counterintuitive to adjust the properties by double-clicking and rotate by right-clicking (which seems to make a mess of the wiring, by the way). I would have done it as: adjust properties by right-clicking and maybe have a toolbar button for Rotate.