Tagging in J2SE application

2009-07-28
2013-05-02
  • Libor Nenadál
    Libor Nenadál
    2009-07-28

Hi,
    I think that image tagging procedure is not much intuitive. First of all I would rename buttons:
    - Tag From File -> Tag Images (this button is very misleading)
    - Add Files -> Add Images (not too critical)
    - Save Tagged Files -> Save Tagged Images
    Also their order should be changed to follow the order of actions - 1. Add, 2. Tag, 3. Save

Also log operations tab should be simplified a bit. Don't take me wrong, I do think that your application is great, but I just think that user friendliness is very poor. I can help you with it if you want. ;-)

• Mario De Weerd
      Mario De Weerd
      2009-07-28

I agree that user friendliness can improve - I am not an expert at that.

Regarding the tagging interface: this is what needs to absolutely improve but I have not yet 'found' the way to change it best while maintaining functionality and keeping the interface size limited.

Regarding Files/Images.  It is actually possible to 'tag' files because the file date will be used to place it on the map.  You could have notes and other things.

I am leaving on vacation in a few days, so I'll not be making these changes soon I think.  Your help is welcome.  I am not sure what your skills are, but for the GUI I use 'Netbeans' to do the graphical layout.  You could make a suggestion by making the changes in Netbeans (I'll explain how of course).  This could be doen 'in parallel' without too much impact on the 'mainstream' coding.

• Libor Nenadál
        Libor Nenadál
        2009-07-29

Well I did not dig into the code much and I am not sure how much depends the desktop GUI on the PDA GUI. I think that when application is started for the first time it can ask for the datalogger type (I am personally using the Holux-241) and then it would set the default parameters. So most of the setting could be moved to some advanced setup tab.