oed command

• Wayne Gramlich
    Wayne Gramlich

I am new to BRL-CAD and I think I am getting the hang of it.

I have been trying to figure out how to move objects around
    in BRL-CAD from the command line.  I have figured out how to
    use "sed", "tra", and "accept" to move solid objects around,
    but I can not figure out how to that to assemblies and parts.

Could somebody explain how the oed works?   The explanation
    at the end of VolumeII is just to brief for me to figure
    out and it just baffles me.

Any help would be appreciated.

• David Loman
      David Loman

I am in the middle of a project that entails heavy use of matrix manipulation of assemblies/groups and parts/regions.  I will do my best to explain the oed command.  As a side note, the menu selections:  Edit ->  Matrix Selection performs the same function as the oed command.

Basically, Matrix selection and manipulation consists of selecting two items:
      1) An 'anchor' object (Region, Combination or Solid)
      2) A collection (Region or Combination ) that you wish to edit.

Generally speaking, the anchor object MUST be somewhere in the hierarchy below the desired Collection you want to edit.

Example of an aircraft:

path from top most object to solid level of the objects currently displayed:

Where all, skin, and upper are all Combinations, cowling02.r is a region and cowling156.s is a solid.  A 'B all' command was used to place the 'all' object on the MGED display.

To use the oed command in this example, you need to specify a complete path from top level to solid level but split the path at the point you wish to edit.

Example #1:

B all

oed all/skin  /upper/cowling02.r/cowling156.s
              will put the object 'upper' in to edit mode using cowling156.s as the 'anchor' object.

oed skin  /upper/cowling02.r/cowling156.s
              will give the error:  "Unable to find solid matching path" because 'all' is the topmost displayed object.

Example #2:

B skin