Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Need help selecting bonding mode

Help
Peter
2010-11-11
2013-06-06
  • Peter
    Peter
    2010-11-11

Hi,

I'm new to bonding but I've been reading a lot in the last couple of days. The problem is that I've tried different modes and they all work (I mean the network connection is up) but it's hard to test them and it's hard to decide which one will work best in my case.

What I'm looking for is high bandwidth.
    If I understand correctly most of the modes separate traffic by using different interfaces for different clients. So, when I run a test (iperf for example) it can't go above a single interface bandwidth and I'm getting the same result for each mode - about 950 Mb/s for Gbit ethernet connection.

Here is my setup:

I have 10 identical servers, with 4 ethernet interfaces each. Each server has a partition on the local hard drive and with additional software this partitions are grouped in pairs and mirrored. There is a lot of network traffic between the servers in each pair but not between the pairs.

The clients are 3 web servers that NFS mount the partitions. The good thing is that these are the only three servers that will access the storage servers. We may add another one or two in the future but for now there is no other system that will require high bandwidth to the storage servers.

All systems are running CentOS5.5 64bit, and are connected to the same switch. The switch supports all the required trunking and 802.3ab. The OS device drivers should have all the required features to take advantage of any bonding mode (as far as I know).

So far I selected balance-alb (mode 6) just based on what I've read.

Is that a good choice?

Any recommendations are highly appreciated.

Thanks
    Peter

• Jay Vosburgh
    Jay Vosburgh
    2010-11-12