Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Using actual BIOS bin in Bochs?

Help
2005-03-17
2013-07-02
  • Steve Ellenoff
    Steve Ellenoff
    2005-03-17

I'm new to Bochs so I apologize if this question is obvious, but can actual bios bins that I've read off the flash roms be used in Bochs?

I see that Bochs uses a custom made ( I assume ), main & video bios..

I realize this is probably done so as to avoid the million and one variations of hardware and corresponding bios that go with it, but I was just curious if it was even possible to get an actual bios to work..

I tried several and they all crash or cause panics in some form or the other..

I'm curious why this is.. If the hardware is emulated fully, shouldn't it work?

Granted, the mobo specific registers & special vendor specific bios codes won't work, but I wouldn't think it would crash bochs... At most I just figured it wouldn't work, ie, the bios code would hit some kind of abort/endless loop code since the POST was probably detected as failed..

• Renan Birck
      Renan Birck
      2005-03-19

I've tried this also, using the BIOS from an old Pentium II motherboard (Amptron PM-7900), and it doesn't work.

I think that all BIOS'es are manufacturer-specific in one way or another.

Bochs would then need to emulate various chipsets (e.g. the Amptron motherboard I used had an Intel chipset; my current one has a SiS chipset) and features such as "onboard" network/audio/video/modem.

And also, I think that using the BIOS for a motherboard made for AMD processors wouldn't work... (Bochs emulates a Pentium, right?)

So, I think that using a real BIOS in Bochs is currently impossible.

The same goes for a video BIOS.

• Alex Sutton
      Alex Sutton
      2005-03-26

"So, I think that using a real BIOS in Bochs is currently impossible.

The same goes for a video BIOS. "