Help to submit a fix or patch

Help
VBWizard
2013-02-18
2013-02-19
  • VBWizard
    VBWizard
    2013-02-18

Hi, long time user, never posted before. I have been working lately with the SVM code, and ran into a problem. The interrupt number was not in VMCB EXITINFO1 on an SVM EXIT triggered by an INTn (software interrupt). I found the root of the problem and would like to submit a fix request, or for that matter I wouldn't mind writing a patch, I've just never done so before. Please let me know what channel to use request a fix, or what tool(s) to use to create the patch. (yes, I am a coder so you don't have to dumb it down)

I am working on another SVM issue related to stepping through VMRUN vs running with no breaking, but more about that later. (i.e. I have hacked a fix but haven't found the "real" fix yet)

Please let me know the best route to proceed. Thanks!

• Hello,

The patches should created using UNIX diff utility (diff -u folder1 folder2) and posed into SF patches tracker or just directly into Bochs-Developers mailing list as attachment to message.

All patches are welcome. But especially in the case you explain -
    Acoording to AMD's docs in SVM IntN instruction should not report vector number in EXITINFO1. It reports the vector only if decode assist is supported by the processor. The first processor supporting the decode assists (AFAIK) was Zambezi - Bulldozer and you at least will have to enable it in the configuration to get it in. But for now it won't be enough as well - the decode assist is not fully implemented in Bochs yet and therefore disabled even in Zambezi configuration.

Stanislav

• VBWizard
    VBWizard
    2013-02-19

Stanislav,

Thank you for taking the time to respond. You know, when I was reading the AMD docs I didn't even notice that ExitInfo1 for IntN Intercepts was a sub-topic of Decode Assists. I am very obviously not the expert here, and I apologize for assuming it was a miss/bug.