Analyze past log files

2012-10-17
2012-10-17
  • John Callahan
    John Callahan
    2012-10-17

I've been using AWStats for a few years. About 6 months ago, I updated AWStats (I thin kit was to 7.0) and my version of Perl (to 5.14.) Unfortunately, I was bitten by this bug: http://sourceforge.net/p/awstats/bugs/868/. The robots, SkipFiles, and OS (and maybe other problems I don't know about) were not detected. So, now I have 6 months of analysis with incorrect traffic numbers (visits, visitors, bandwidth, etc...)

Does anyone have a suggestion on what to do? Ideally, now that the problem is fixed in AWStats, is to go back and reanalyze all 6 months. I use Apache 2.2 on Windows and rotate my log files daily. (I actually run awstats.pl hourly to give me up to the hour stats.) So, I have a separate log file for every day. Is there a script or method I can use to help? Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

• John

• walkoffhomerun
      walkoffhomerun
      2012-10-17

this is no different than running a backup set of log files on a separate server. I had this problem as my hosting company's AWStats were not running correctly so I download all the daily files onto my own private server where I have AWStats, GeoIP and Perl set up. When I run my own I get accurate AWStats that show correct traffic info my hosting company simply does not care to fix.

So, to answer your question there are 2 solutions it seems like to me.

1) download the daily log files onto a separate computer and run again to create a separate version. great like my example where my hosting company never seems to want to update anything (like GeoIP). This way you control your own AWStats output and get the most accurate readings.