Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

I need explanations onHow AutoScan is working

Help
mevil
2007-03-13
2013-04-25
  • mevil
    mevil
    2007-03-13

Bonjour,
    je suis étudiant en IUT réseau et télécommunications et je travail sur ce logiciel afin de réaliser un projet de fin d'année.

Je n'arrive pas très bien à comprendre le fonctionnement d'AutoScan.
    Voila ce que j'ai comprit:
    AutoScan est basé sur le protocol TCP, il envoi des paquet "arp request" aux équipements puis des "SYN TCP" pour se connecter à ces mêmes équipements. Ainsi il peut récupérer les adresses MAC et IP par exemple.
    Je pense que j'ai bon pour le moment.

La suite est plus délicate: Comment AutoScan_Agent parvient-il à récupérer les informations des postes, notamment leur hardware et les processus tournant au moment du scan... Est-ce un agent snmp qui fait ce travail?

Je suis un peu bloqué sur ce point...

Merci d'avance pour vos réponses.
    Mevil.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello,
    I am student in IUT network and telecommunications and I work on this software in order to manage my project.

I don't understand very well how AutoScan is working.

I have understood that: AutoScan is based on protocol TCP, it send package “arp request” to the equipment and “SYN TCP” to connect itself to this same equipment. So it can recover addresses MAC and IP for instance.
    I think that I have good for the moment.

The continuation is more delicate: How AutoScan_Agent manages it to recover information of the computers, in particular their hardware and the processes which are running when we do the scan?

Is this an agent SNMP which does this work? I am blocked on this point…

Thank you in advance for your answers.
    Mevil.

• fazersb
      fazersb
      2007-03-16

Bonjour Mevil,