From: Steve the Fiddle <stevethefiddle@gm...> - 2010-11-19 16:03:35
When using "Save Project As", overwriting an existing project is disallowed.
However, when using "Save Compressed Copy of Project", not only is it
allowed but there is no warning that the original project is being
overwritten in a lossy format.
Is this an oversight or is there a reason for it?
(this question relates to the forum discussion:
From: Vaughan Johnson <vaughan@au...> - 2010-11-19 23:11:31
Hi, Steve. In short, it's a bug, but not quite as pervasive as stated.
The problem occurs only if you're doing a Save Compressed of the
currently open project. In fact, Save As does the same thing (and Save
Compressed uses that same code for checking). If you Save As the
currently open project, it saves the project all over again, even if
there are no changes to be written. Here's the comment in the code:
//We should only overwrite it if this project already has the same
name, where the user
//simply chose to use the save as command although the save command
would have the effect.
But that seems like a bug to me. Two cases:
1) If there are no changes since the last Save, Save is disabled but
Save As is not. So Save As will overwrite the same data, and it's
wasteful to spend cycles doing the Save As in that case.
2) If there are changes since the last Save, then by choosing Save As, I
think we should expect the user intends to save a separate copy, and if
user accidentally gives it the same name, then overwriting the existing
version will lose that copy. Danger, Will Robinson.
According to SVN, Michael wrote the comment and the check to work this
way, but I think it should disallow overwriting in every case, for both
Save As and Save Compressed. But it's easy to change it to do so only
for Save Compressed, if consensus is for that.
Btw, according to a comment by James:
// We disallow overwrite because we would have to delete the many
// smaller files too, or prompt to move them.
On 11/19/2010 8:03 AM, Steve the Fiddle wrote:
> When using "Save Project As", overwriting an existing project is disallowed.
> However, when using "Save Compressed Copy of Project", not only is it
> allowed but there is no warning that the original project is being
> overwritten in a lossy format.
> Is this an oversight or is there a reason for it?
> (this question relates to the forum discussion: