Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Per-Vertex animation

Help
konmat
2014-01-30
2014-02-03
  • konmat
    konmat
    2014-01-30

Hello,

i am relatively new to OpenGl. I am creating an application to load 3D objects, both static and animated.
    I am using Assimp as object loader and i have successfully managed to load different object as well as animate them using skeletal animations. However now i would like to add an option for a per-vertex animation. I've been looking around for some sort sample or pseudo code, but i seem to be unable to find anything which is using Assimp aiNodeAnim to create per-vertex animation. I need to animate parts of a model, and those parts are animated in linear fashion (eg. spinning wheel or parts of it going up and down repeatedly) and i have no bone data for that.
    I wanted to ask if there is anything to be used as an example or a starting point which uses Assimp data to perform this kind of animation? Once again, everything i found so far is for skeletal animation only.

• konmat
    konmat
    2014-02-03

Hello,

since i did not get any input on my question, i thought maybe i asked incorrectly. Basically what i need is a way to animate a model which has no bones, but has animations.
    I downloaded AssimpView and it's source code and i can see that AssimpView can animate a model without bones without any problem and it looks smooth and good, but i cannot seem to find a place where it does that, in it's source code.