Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Installing Marauroa Game Engine

Help
2011-12-27
2013-06-06
  • Simon Small
    Simon Small
    2011-12-27

I have installed the Marauroa Game Engine, using the Chat tutorial in the Wiki. I was not sure about where to locate all the files. I managed to get this working, but changed a few things - like the Classpath, and the hard-coded login!

Does anyone have an opinion on the directory structure and file locations? I might try to extend the Chat tutorial if I can understand it, but don't want to work out a new answer if someone has it already (I am a bit of a novice when it comes to Java :)

• Simon Small
    Simon Small
    2011-12-30

Thanks for the answer. I will have a look

Meanwhile, I have been dabbling with NetBeans. I can add the new Chat class to a new NetBeans project and set the main class. As soon as I add the marauroa.jar file I cannot get anything to run; I get a "Java can't find main class" error message

I am going to try to add the source code for marauroa and compile it myself. Let's see what happens.

• Simon Small
    Simon Small
    2011-12-31

Yes! Adding the Marauroa source code to NetBeans lets me run the Client program from NetBeans. Now to check that I understand what I have done, and to work on extending the Chat example. I'll follow up all my steps on the Wiki

More in a bit…

• Simon Small
    Simon Small
    2012-01-27

I have added several pages to the wiki for using NetBeans to develop the Chat Tutorial. It goes as far as the command line version of that Tutorial, and I have tried to add in some explanations. I have a few more bits that I would like to add shortly, but I think it will work as it is for someone wanting to get started.