Hacking in open source games?

2005-05-21
2013-06-06
  • Hello, I just found this project on Freshmeat, and it seems interesting.  I've been thinking about hacking, and preventing it in open source online games.  Mostly how to prevent people from playing with altered clients.  If an open source MMO ever got off the ground and got a decent normal gamer playerbase, it just seems that the ease of hacking the client would turn the game into a hack-fest.  Is there a way to keep a game open source while keeping players honest?  I'm just a gamer/student programmer who was thinking about the subject, anyone else put any thought into it?

• Sure, we have been thinking for about 5 years about it.
      Usually you cheat for an advantage, the point is that game is open source so that advantage because of a cheat soon will happen on the rest of clients and if the advantage is not ethical it will be limited by server. ( That's the idea ).

How to avoid cheats? ( I won't say hacking ) Well, in Arianne, like most open source games, very litle is placed on client. In fact client on Arianne is just a rendering application.

When you say move on Arianne you say to server "Please move me up" and server then does "Move player up at a speed of 1".

When you attack someone EVERYTHING is calculated server side, so cheating on client is not "possible".

How can you cheat so? For example by adding AI to your character and let it play alone to level up faster ( for example ). Or by doing an application that scans the area and search for dead players to steal them :)
      That is not a bug, that is a feature.

Personally, I think we can't do anything to avoid client modification. In fact I think it is a good thing to see client modification. Server rules will do the rest.