newb with a lag problem...

2005-02-28
2013-06-06
  • First of all, hello! I've stumbled upon arianne/marauroa at the end of last year and followed its development periodically ever since. From what I as a rookie coder with a background in mainly graphic design and media art can say, it's already an impressive achievement!

I'm currently in my final year at a university of applied sciences in Austria, majoring in information design. My school required that I spend one term as an intern in a related field, and I ended up working for an indie game-designer who's hell-bent on creating a large graphic chat system / MMORPG blend. I'm supposed to hack up a quick prototype. :P

Anyway, I am in the final stages of development of this "prototype". It sports a 3d engine written in Java/OpenGL and a fully functional offline demo-mode. I agreed to at least give it a try to work out a simple online version capable of handling several players walking around and chatting with each other. Having tried out Marauroa (tried to code a simple chat server and client which worked quite nicely), I thought it'll be able to do this just fine.

So this is what I have done so far:
    I have downloaded the marauroa classes and put together the server code in Python. From what I can tell, it's working quite fine. It has a chararacter class with all necessary attributes and facilitates moving the characters around and checking for collision.