Obtaining RDF graph from HTML using ontology

jaxvy
2010-02-25
2013-05-13
  • jaxvy
    jaxvy
    2010-02-25

Hi,

I am new to Aperture and while I was reading the wiki on the rdf usage I learned that to extract metadata from a given HTML page aperture uses the NIE ontology framework. Therefore I was wondering if aperture provides the necessary set of API components to use a different ontology (of course in the same format/structure as NIE) to extract different metadata from  a given HTML page. My aim is to extract rdf triples from a given web page according to a given ontology. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

• Soh Guan Hoe
    Soh Guan Hoe
    2010-02-26

Hi I cannot find the button to create a new topic so borrow your thread to tag on. I am also looking for the Javadoc for org.ontoware.*

I also cannot find the source code for those org.ontoware.* Java classes. So does that mean this package is closed source ?

Thanks.

• Antoni Mylka
    Antoni Mylka
    2010-02-26

1. Sorry, there is no way to customize which ontology is used. What you can do is extract the triples to an in-memory model, and later convert them to your ontology.

If I had to do it quickly, I would hack a little piece of code that would create two hashmaps, in one hashmap, the keys would be NIE properties, and the values would be properties from your ontology. Then I would do something like

for (URI key : map.keySet()) {
        ClosableIterator<? extends Statement> it = model.findStatements(Variable.ANY, key, Variable.ANY);
        while (it.hasNext()) {
            Statement st = it.next();
            resultModel.addStatement(st.getSubject(), map.get(key), model.getObject());
       }
    }

… and another similar loop for classes. It would look for (?x, rdf:type, nie:WhateverClass) and insert (?x, rdf:type, youront:YourClass) into the target model.