3D modelling vs CAD

Anonymous
2012-05-23
2013-06-05

• Anonymous
    2012-05-23

Hello,

I am a complete amateur. I know what I want to draw, but I don't know whether I need a 3D modeler like AoI or a CAD program like FreeCAD. Honestly, I don't truly understand the difference between these two types of programs: I know that "artists use 3D modelers, engineers use CAD", but that doesn't tell me enough.

Anyway. I am an astrophysicist. I want to draw a model of a space colony idea that I have been working on.

1. On the one hand, I don't just want to draw a pretty picture. I have been thinking seriously about a design that is as realistic and as plausible as I can make it. I have notes regarding safety design, evacuation procedures, temperature control, natural lighting, etc. This makes me think that maybe I need a CAD program because… you know, "that's what architects and engineers use".

2. On the other hand, I am not an architect or engineer. Though the colony is meant to be more realistic than most well known designs, its construction still lies well in the future (late 21st to 22nd century). I have no intention or ability to design every detail like plumbing, exact choice of materials, circuits, etc. This makes me think that a CAD is *not* what I want… Maybe I really do just want to draw a picture.

In addition, I have no intention of becoming an artist or architect. My day job is to do astrophysics and this is just a fun project that I'm working on on the side. I would prefer a program with a relatively easy learning curve (e.g. I'd pick AoI over Blender).

Based on this information, can anyone make a recommendation or give me any general advice as to what software I need?

Thanks,
    Daniel.

• Harald G
    Harald G
    2012-05-23

I´m working with CAD and don´t know to much about that kind of concept design you´re going to make.

But as often: You need to plan. And CAD is not a good choice here, because you´re not looking for absolute precision