Linking with libraries on OS X

Help
2005-04-09
2013-04-24
  • Hi all, I'm rather new to cpptasks, so I might be missing a linker option (though I _have_ looked through the available documentation)... the problem is:

I can successfully compile numerous cpp files to objects and build them as libraries but I receive errors when trying to build an executable that links to those libraries.

More specifically, when a cc target that needs to link with a library is called, cpptasks *appears* to call libtool with the option "-Bstatic" or "-Bdynamic" depending on the library type, when these are not options to the OSX libtool.

My build script does work correctly on Linux and Unix, just not on OSX. However, I can manually enter the corresponding terminal command ("g++ -I./include -I./utilities/include src/main.cpp -L./libs -L./utilities/libs -lmgp -lutilities") with correct results.

Thanks, Mike.

<target name="mgp-exec" depends="all-static, utilities">
        <cc subsystem="console"
                outfile="${base.dir}/bin/mgp"
                outtype="executable"
                debug="${debug}"
                exceptions="true"
                rtti="true"
                optimize="speed"
                name="${compiler}">
            <fileset dir="${src.dir}"
                includes="main.cpp"/>
            <includepath path="${include.dir}"/>
            <includepath path="${utils.dir}/include"/>
            <libset libs="stdc++" if="is-gcc"/>
            <libset
                dir="${base.dir}/libs"
                libs="mgp"
                type="static"/>
            <libset
                dir="${utils.dir}/libs"
                libs="utilities"
                type="static"/>
            <versioninfo refid="mgp-version"/>
        </cc>
    </target>

• Curt Arnold
      Curt Arnold
      2005-04-09

Do things work correctly if you remove the type="static" from the libset elements?