Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

EthernetIPforCLXComm to DH+

Help
2012-10-03
2013-05-30
  • OccamsRazor
    OccamsRazor
    2012-10-03

Hello,  Lovin the Advanced HMI!

I'm a newb to VB first off. I have used the advanced HMI a little bit with DFCOMM to an SCL500 for learning.
    I'm now trying to connect to a PLC 5 via DH+ through a control logix backplane with an ethernet IP card.

file:///media/BIGFATDRIVE/control%20logix%20map.bmp
    I'm just tryin the basic button and digital panel meter to get started but can't get connected.
    I've used the EthernetIPforCLXComm driver, selected slot 1 but i"m unsure how to tell it node/station 3.
    any Help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,

• Archie
    Archie
    2012-10-03

The current CLX driver does not support the controlLogix as a gateway. The only way to connect to your PLC5 is direct ethernet, DF1, or by using a DF1 to DH+ converter such as a Datalink DL3500. I think a 1770-KF2 module will also work.

• OccamsRazor
    OccamsRazor
    2012-10-03

OK thanks for the info and quick reply I tried to post a picture with it but failed. I'll try again to get it right for next time.
    Thanks Archie!

• OccamsRazor
    OccamsRazor
    2012-10-03

• OccamsRazor
    OccamsRazor
    2012-10-10

Hello again,
    I'm having more trouble connecting with direct ethernet.  It's acctually through a switch which rslinx sees with no trouble but I cant get the HMI to "talk"  It still a simple sketch digital panel meter reading a timer and a pilot light reading an output. T4:20.ACC and O:002/15.  Would the switch be my problem? can the driver connect through it?
    setup=
    (name) EthernetIpforPlcSlcMicroComm1
    AsyncMode - False
    DisableSubscriptions - False
    GenerateMember - True
    Modifiers - Friend
    MyNode - 0
    PollRateOverride - 0
    SynchronizingObject - MainForm
    TargetNode - 0

Thanks, Marc

• Archie
    Archie