• Tommy

I like acidrip.. its a little hard to get used to, but its a hella lot nicer than the commandline to mencoder ;)

*. if you are not going to use the libdvdkit that comes with mplayer, then you should encorperate the code directly into acidrip??? (sorry I am not really a programmer.. I dont know if thats not possible)

*  definately needs to have easy ability to split up dvd's into "files" of a certian size... if you just choose to encode a 3 hr movie, you either get poor quality or a HUGE file :p

* on the ability to select multiple chapters, you might want to include (somehow) a field that says how long the selected recording is (so it would be easier to select approximately half or whatever)

• Chris Phillips
      Chris Phillips

wooo message number 2! this place is on fire! :)

right then, it's not that i wouldn't like to use the mplayer libdvdread hack as it would elliminate some dependencies, but it's not possible for a number of reasons. firstly it's a hack that ends up relying on the mplayer code itself so can't be seperated. Obviosuly this is not a concern of mplayer as they did this hack for themselves so that's fine. It's just not possible to use the code by another app, it will always fail due to some pretty petty variables missing. Also the libs are always statically linked by default. i.e. libmpdvdkit2 is INSIDE mplayer and mencoder, that's why they're 2.5mb each. it's possible to change a setting in the mplayer makefile (documented acutally) which will make it link dynamically but this would be much more involved to install acidrip than simply chucking in an extra library, libdvdread. It'd be nice, but the mplayer guys have no reason or interest in making this possbile.

Also as a matter of correctness, it's lsdvd that uses libdvdread, not acidrip. I suppose I could always create an lsdvd rpm statically linked to dvdread so you wouldn't need it, but i don't like that idea really.