Soalris Port

Developers
Ian Baker
2003-12-22
2013-04-29
  • Ian Baker
    Ian Baker
    2003-12-22

I have just checked in a port to Solaris.

You will find this on the schemasoft branch.

There is a module AAFSolarisSDK defined to check it out.

The port has been tested on Solaris 8 but not yet on Solaris 9, so feedback on this platform would be appreciated

Ian

• GaryK
      GaryK
      2005-05-23

Hi Ian,

I am just getting started with AAF and wondered if you could answer a few questions about the Solaris port.

The developer FAQ does not mention the Solaris port. Is the FAQ out-of-date or is Solaris not a supported platform?

Does the Solaris port include the Structured Storage support or must I obtain this thru some other process?

I would want to layer Java code on the COM interface. Is there anything like JCOM on Solaris that could be used, or must I build a JNI layer? Any suggestions you have would be appreciated.

Thanks,
      Gary

• Ian Baker
        Ian Baker
        2005-05-23

Hi Gary,

the easiest first - I have not used Java on Solaris at all so I cant advise - sorry.

Solaris is a supported patform to some extent, I believe that it was not one of the platforms that was tested in the  run up to v1.1 (others may correct me  here) but I expect it to compile and work

The Solaris port does include the structured storage, in the AAFSparcSolarisSDK\g++\sss-impl directory. It may not be reliable with files >2GB, but otheriwise is fine. (It is possible that it does work but as far as I'm aware has not been tested)

Ian

• Oliver Morgan
          Oliver Morgan
          2005-05-23

Stuart built and tested the Solaris AAF SDK, it's available at http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/aaf/AAF-runtime-libs-SparcSolaris-1.1.0.0.tar.gz?download

The last recorded nightly build can be seen at
          http://aaf.sourceforge.net/build/

but I believe it was built and tested since then
          and the module tests include >2GB