Help
GaryK
2005-09-02
2013-04-29
  • GaryK
    GaryK
    2005-09-02

Dear Community,

I am just getting started with AAF 1.1 and encountered an error code that I was not able to find a definition for in the header files. It seems to be below the range of the symbolic codes. The code is 80000004 and it is returned by AAFFileOpenNewModify. Can anyone tell me what this means.

BTW, I would also like to know if there is such a thing as an AAF Plugin Developers Guide.

Thanks,
    Gary K.

• GaryK
      GaryK
      2005-09-07

I have reduced the scope of the problem to the following:

My application calls AAF via

hr=AAFFileOpenNewModify( pFileName, modeFlags, &prodInfo, &file );

This eventually leads to OMSS_SSStoredObjectFactory::createFile calling what I believe is StructuredStorage via

HRESULT status = OMSSIStorage::StgCreateStorageEx(omFileName, OMFile::modifyMode, (void **)&storage, sectorSize);

This returns status=80000004 (E_NOINTERFACE).

Can anyone tell me what might be the cause of this?

• John Emmas
        John Emmas
        2005-09-08

Are you using the Windows SDK? If so, try rebuilding your entire project with the default structure alignment (8 bytes) and see if that helps.

• GaryK
      GaryK
      2005-09-08

Thanks, John.

I am using Visual C++.net version 2003.

For each of my projects I examined the Properties->Configuration Properties->C/C++->Code Generation->Struct Memeber Alignment and found all to be set to Default.

I also confirmed that the AAF projects had this setting.

• GaryK
      GaryK
      2005-09-09

I may have discovered a negative-case bug in StructuredStorage.

My trace code shows my application calling

hr=AAFFileOpenNewModify( pFileName, modeFlags, &prodInfo, &file );

with pFilename = L"\\".

To verify that this is actually the problem, I modified the CEnumAAFComponentTest at line 628 to pass this value. This actually duplicated the problem, causing the test to fail.