1. Summary
  2. Files
  3. Support
  4. Report Spam
  5. Create account
  6. Log in

Hitechnic Compass Sensor Question

Discussion specific to the intelligent brick, sensors, motors, and more.

Hitechnic Compass Sensor Question

Postby porty6600 » 08 Jan 2012, 01:25

Does anyone know if it matters that the compass sensor is level? I wasn't sure.


porty6600
porty6600
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 01:18

Re: Hitechnic Compass Sensor Question

Postby mattallen37 » 08 Jan 2012, 02:17

Yes, it is critical to the accuracy of the readings.
Matt
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/

I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting ;)
User avatar
mattallen37
 
Posts: 1818
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 02:19
Location: Michigan USA

Re: Hitechnic Compass Sensor Question

Postby porty6600 » 10 Jan 2012, 22:26

Thanks, I got it leveled. Is there anything else I need to know about this sensor?

porty6600
porty6600
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 01:18

Re: Hitechnic Compass Sensor Question

Postby mattallen37 » 10 Jan 2012, 22:34

Well, it's a magnetometer, so any magnetic field will effect it's readings. That means that motors, batteries, wires, other sensors, and any magnetic metal (iron/steel primarily) could have an effect on the accuracy of the returned heading.

For an NXT robot, it's recommended to keep the compass at least 6 inches away from anything electrical. Often the easiest way to do this is by mounting it above the rest of the robot.
Matt
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/

I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting ;)
User avatar
mattallen37
 
Posts: 1818
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 02:19
Location: Michigan USA

Re: Hitechnic Compass Sensor Question

Postby porty6600 » 10 Jan 2012, 23:53

mattallen37 wrote:Well, it's a magnetometer, so any magnetic field will effect it's readings. That means that motors, batteries, wires, other sensors, and any magnetic metal (iron/steel primarily) could have an effect on the accuracy of the returned heading.

For an NXT robot, it's recommended to keep the compass at least 6 inches away from anything electrical. Often the easiest way to do this is by mounting it above the rest of the robot.


Wow, thats a bummer! It will be difficult to mount it that high.

porty6600
porty6600
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 01:18


Return to Mindstorms Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests