Configuration File Editing
Notepad++ reads its configuration files only once, when it starts. Because you might use some of Notepad++ dialogs to modify them, it overwrites them on exit. So, if you edit config files in Notepad++ without special precautions, your work will be dutifully overwritten.
There are three workarounds:
- Use a different editor while Notepad++ is closed.
- Copy the files to some location Notepad++ doesn't know about, edit, close Notepad++ and replace the old configuration files with the copies you just updated.
- As a variant, you can edit the original file, File -> Save a Copy As in another folder when done, and then replace original with the edited copy.
- You can also edit in-place, but Notepad++ has to be fooled:
- Do the required editing within Notepad++
- Save the files
- Mark them as read-only, by right clicking on each file in your file manager in turn (or in the File -> Save a Copy As dialog), clicking Properties and setting the Read-only attribute there.
- Close Notepad++
- Reopen it. If your session is not being remembered, reopen the edited configuration files
- Clear the read-only flag for them. You can use Edit -> Clear Read-Only Flag.
If Edit -> Set Read Only is used instead of the native Windows interface, the read only status will be overridden by Notepad++, to the effect of changes being lost. It is debatable whether this trait is a bug or a feature.